Watch someone use your elearning course for 5 minutes

When I first started developing courses I assumed if I could figure out my way around my own course, anyone could. I was very mistaken. You can never assume that your course is easy to navigate or follow. You always need a few more sets of eyes. Don’t get me wrong; you can always send the link to a small group of people and have them test it on their own time. They will provide you feedback and it will probably be helpful. But have you ever sat behind someone and actually watched them use a course you created? Probably not…

Once you finally decide to do it, it’s an eye-opening experience. The things you assumed would be completely obvious don’t seem so apparent when you watch other people taking the course. But this is not a bad thing; in fact, it’s a very good thing. It may hurt your ego a bit because you realize you’re not as big a genius as you thought you were, but it will make you a better developer in the long run. And it will make your courses better as well.

For more tips, check out my books “45 Elearning Tips and Tricks” and “26 Things I Wish Someone Would Have Told Me About Elearning” now available in the Kindle bookstore. Or if you are new to elearning and want some advice, try my other book “Become an Elearning Developer Today!” It’s  a blueprint for getting into the field of elearning development.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

