Rhapsody removed from Apple App Store

This is not elearning related but it’s something I wanted to mention because I haven’t read about it anywhere else.

I spoke with a customer service rep for Rhapsody this morning and she told me that the Rhapsody app has been pulled from the App store because it was not working with the new OS 5.1 upgrade. I was wondering what happened because I recently updated my OS for my Iphone and Rhapsody abruptly stopped working. So I uninstalled it and planned on re-installing it when, lo and behold, I could not find it in the app store anymore. The rep said it should be available in a few days but how many of us have heard that before?

Leave me a comment if you’ve run into the same problem or have some additional information.

P.S. I was able to get a week refund for my troubles.

UPDATE – I switched to Spotify and am loving it! It seems to run much faster on my phone and I have had no problems with the app hanging up or closing itself. 

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Rhapsody removed from Apple App Store”

  1. Randy Says:

    Interesting, I updated to 5.1 and saw an update to rhapsody the same day, deleted my app and reinstalled and it’s been working great for me.

    Wonder what the trouble is.

    I’ve had problems with updates of rhapsody in the past so decided to always remove it instead of updating. Maybe people who updated see a problem.

  2. Unnamed unnamed Says:

    I did the same thing. I updated the app & it didn’t work. I uninstalled it & I reinstalled right away & it works. But I did notice later in the day, the app had been removed. As of today my Rhapsody on my iPhone is still working. And my music streams & downloads in High Quality.

  3. Unnamed unnamed Says:

    By the way, it’s working with the new iOS 5.1. All in High Quality. Even the radio stations are in High Quality.

  4. GoBaker Says:

    I installed the 5.1 upgrade from my IPhone and installed any app updates. No problem noticed what so ever. Wanted to install the last of my 3 user accounts on wife’s IPhone today and discovered app was gone.
    This is the only site where I found a clear reason for the issue. Thank you LearnToElearn. Rhapsody has the email address of every subscriber. Would have liked to hear this kind of stuff from them.
    Sad, very sad, customer support. If I could not use my IPhone app I would have cancelled the account. Do nothing is an expected Government response not a responsible business response.

    • learntoelearn Says:

      Yeah, this is extremely bad PR. If I hadn’t contacted support, I would still have no idea what was going on. I downloaded Spotify on my Iphone and am going to try it out for 30 days. If it’s even close to decent, I’ll keep it and cancel Rhapsody.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    The same thing happened to me. When should it be back?

  6. S. Younge Says:

    I am currently experiencing the same issue with Rhapsody on my phone. I have a 4S and updated to ios 5.1 this weekend. Rhapsody would not load and play any of my music. So i deleted it and went to the app store to find it and reinstall. Bur rhapsody could not be found. I will give them a call and request a refund.

  7. app for iphone Says:

    app for iphone…

    […]Rhapsody removed from Apple App Store « The eLearning Authority Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

